John Cotton took control of the Group from his father in 1965. John has overseen significant change in the business, diversifying its product portfolio to become market leader in UK Home Textiles.

Under his leadership, the company has expanded significantly acquiring new businesses in the UK and Europe. He has also secured various partnership agreements in China.

In 2010 he received a Lifetime Achievement award from the National Bed Federation and in 2014 an MBE for Services to Business in West Yorkshire in the Queens Honours list.

Mark Cotton joined the family business in 1997 and has been an Executive Director since 1999.  Mark became Group Managing Director in 2004 and is familiar with all parts of the Group.    

Specific strengths include buying, trading and operational ‘business system’ improvements.  Mark has been active in growing the Group to its current size whilst being instrumental in strategic activities.

Mark has driven the sustainability agenda for the business; on winning NBF Bed Component Supplier of the Year in 2015 he was praised for, “tackling the challenges of the circular economy agenda”.

David joined the business in 2013 having held a number of key leadership positions in Disney, Mars and Nestle. He also has extensive experience in the Home and Textiles business sectors.

Today David is responsible as Group Managing Director for the Home Textile teams in the UK, China and Poland. He has led the Home Textiles division through a strong period of growth.

David comments “The great thing about John Cottons is we can make decisions quickly and there is still a wealth of opportunities to go after”.

Nick joined John Cotton Group in 2011 from Cooper Industries; he has extensive financial and management experience in a number of manufacturing industries including textiles, steel and lighting.

He is responsible for Performance Management, Financial Control and Compliance. Nick comments “Our strong balance sheet enables us to take advantage of opportunities”.

In 2015 Nick was awarded The Yorkshire Finance Director of the Year award having previously won Young Finance Director of the Year in 2010.